- About Us
- STATE INFO
- Enroll Now
Utah's DWI laws prohibit all motorists from operating a motor vehicle:
A driver is considered “under the influence” if “incapable of safely operating a vehicle” as the result of ingesting alcohol, drug or any other substance.
Utah has a “not-a-drop” law that makes it illegal for motorists who are under the age of 21 years to drive with any detectable amount of alcohol in their system.
|1st Offense||2nd Offense||3rd Offense|
Maximum 180 days in jail (mandatory 2 days in jail or 48 community service)
|Maximum 180 days in jail (mandatory 10 days in jail or 5 days in jail plus 30 days of electronic monitoring)||Maximum 5 years in prison (mandatory 62 days in jail if prison isn't ordered)|
At least $1,310
|At least $1,560||At least $2,850|
|Revoked for 2 years||Revoked for 2 years|
|Ignition Interlock Device||
1 year mandatory with BAC of .16% or more (at judge’s discretion for lower BACs)
|2 years (with one or more prior convictions within 10 years)||2 year (with one or more prior convictions within 10 years)|