>>>>>>>>>>>>> Look out for SIID our Smart Ignition Interlock Device somewhere on our website to earn a special discount code! <<<<<<<<<<<<<

Nevada


Nevada officially uses the term “driving under the influence” (DUI) instead of “driving while intoxicated” (DWI). But there are still quite a few people that use DWI and DUI interchangeably when talking about driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

Nevada’s DUI laws prohibit all motorists from operating a motor vehicle:
  • + with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more within two hours of driving (called a “per se” DUI), or
  • + while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

A person is considered “under the influence” if is impaired to the degree that the person cannot safely drive.

The BAC limit is lower for commercial drivers and drivers who are under the age of 21. Commercial drivers can get a DUI for a BAC of .04% or more and underage drivers can be cited for operating a vehicle with a BAC of .02% or more.

  1st Offense 2nd Offense 3rd Offense
Jail
180-day maximum (mandatory 2 days in jail or 48 to 96 hours community service)
 
180-day maximum (mandatory 10 days in jail or home confinement) 1 to 6 years in prison
Fines
$400 minimum
 
$750 minimum (or equivalent number of community service hours) $2,000 minimum
License Revocation
At least 185 days
 
1 year 3 years
Ignition Interlock Device
185 days if BAC is less than .18%, 1 to 3 years if BAC is .18% or more
 
185 days if BAC is less than .18%, 1 to 3 years if BAC is .18% or more 1 to 3 years