>>>>>>>>>>>>> Look out for SIID our Smart Ignition Interlock Device somewhere on our website to earn a special discount code! <<<<<<<<<<<<<


In Connecticut, you can be convicted of “operating under the influence” (OUI) for operating a motor vehicle:

+ with an elevated blood alcohol content (BAC) (.08% or greater, .04% or greater if the driver was operating a commercial vehicle, and .02% or greater if the driver was under 21 years old), or
+ while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any drug.

Connecticut law defines “under the influence” as so affected in the mental, physical, or nervous processes that the driver lacks—to an appreciable degree—the ability to function properly in relation to the operation of a vehicle.

An OUI for an elevated BAC—also called a “per se OUI,”—is based on chemical test results, and not actual level of impairment. The amount of alcohol a person can consume before exceeding the BAC limit depends on a number of factors, including gender, body size, and the type of alcohol.

  1st Offense 2nd Offense 3rd Offense
48 hours (or 100 hours community service) up to 6 months
120 days to 2 years 1 to 3 years
$500 to $1,000

$1,000 to $4,000     

$2,000 to $8,000
License Suspension
45 days
45 days Permanent
Ignition Interlock Device 1 year 3 years N/A